The countdown begins…

Tignes 29 Nov 12

Tignes, 29th November

1st December. The countdown has begun. And I’m not talking about the countdown to Christmas. I’m counting down to my first turns of the season, and it’s much closer than Christmas! 12 days sooner, to be precise. I head out to the Alps in 13 days, and I can’t wait!

What’s even more exciting is that it’s been absolutely dumping in the Alps and it’s looking like it’s going to be another epic start to the season! Tignes and Val d’Isere both opened for the season today, with loads more resorts opening over the next couple of weekends

St Gervais 30 Nov

The mountains above St Gervais, 30th November. Photo: Chris Barrow

Across the pond it’s a tale of contrasts. In Canada, resorts such as Whistler and Banff have had an incredible start to the season. However, resorts in Colorado are suffering from unseasonably high temperatures and a severe lack of snow, even in the highest resorts, such as Breckenridge. It was the same last year, so fingers crossed it starts dumping there soon too, and this doesn’t become a recurring trend. When conditions are right, Colorado is pretty hard to beat.

Snow in Cairngorms - 1 Dec 12

Snow in the Cairngorms, 1st December. Photo: Nikki Lorimer

Closer to (my) home, it’s also been dumping in Scotland, and Cairngorm and The Lecht opened for business today! So, I might get to make my first turns even sooner than I thought…!

To make the countdown even sweeter, many retailers have got great deals running in the build up to Christmas. Check out my blog for Snowboarding Deals UK for details. Today there’s 20% off all snow gear at Two Seasons! I’ll take that over a crappy advent calendar chocolate any day!

Are you heading to the mountains soon? Or are you already there? Leave a comment below and let me know where you’re off to/at. Let’s get excited together!

Over to you...

